Broken Hearts, Broken Lives.

What causes a married couple to separate after over 25 years of marriage? How does one simply seem to “fall out of love” with their soul mate or life partner? Broken marriages happen everyday and to me, that is a very sad thing.

Fortunately, I have never fallen victim of such a tragic thing, nor do I have to worry about doing so. My parents have been married for twenty years and counting and my mom has told me before that my dad is one of the few not stupid men in the world that loves his wife and family and would never even think of leaving them for anything.

Sadly, I have seen too many relationships shatter in the last few months.  What’s sadder is that these relationships are either within my church or with people whom I would have never imagined divorce plaguing.

I don’t believe in divorce. I believe that divorce happens, but I don’t believe in such a thing. Fifty years ago, divorce was unimaginable. People actually worked out their personal problems and made the effort to take a struggling situation and turn it into something that made them stronger. I think that’s part of what marriage is in the first place; I mean, for better or for worse, right?

It breaks my heart seeing people fall apart from each other. I know that God doesn’t intend for that to happen, but I think He realizes that we are only flawed human beings.

Marriage is such a sacred thing. I think so incredibly highly of it that it will not be an option in my future, period. It can be so hurtful and destructive; I don’t want to be part of anything of that nature.

I’m not married. I don’t know the specifics of what goes into making a happy, successful marriage work and stay strong; however, I do know that remaining faithful and openly communicating with one’s spouse could help. Despite the fact that I do not don the title of “Misses”, I am in a relationship that I have been in for the last six months. I know that is absolutely nothing compared to a lengthy number of years, but a relationship is a relationship nonetheless. The last six months have held ups and downs, as all relationships have, but everytime something got complicated or there was a disagreement, we always worked things out and talked about things freely. Yeah, it was hard, but it was so worth it.

I wonder if people that get separated realize that it’s worth it; although, I suppose that isn’t always the case.

Sometimes things just honestly don’t work out. Sometimes people rush into things on impulse. Sometimes people simply aren’t meant to be together.

But how does divorce happen after many years of togetherness? What happens then? This absolutely baffles me.

Leave a Reply

