What I Want to Be When I Grow Up

I was in Charleston last weekend with my mom for a little summer rest and relaxation. We went to the aquarium, walked around downtown, explored the Market. It was a really great time and I have to admit, I always love being in places with so much rich history everywhere.

In case you didn’t know, Charleston is one of those places.

The sites were beautiful and the food was delicious, per usual. The thing that always gets me as I’m walking around downtown Charleston though is what the heck happened on the streets, in these houses 200 years ago?

Then when we were at the aquarium, all I could think about was how awesome the ocean is. I was taken back to my childhood dream of being a marine biologist (yeah, when I was in elementary school I wanted to be a marine biologist…not really sure how that came about) — what a cool job that would be! What if I would have actually pursued a career in marine biology?

Basically throughout the whole weekend I had a million and one questions racing through my mind about wanting to do so many different things, chasing after all these different dreams.

Then, it hit me.

I can be whatever I want to be.

As a teacher, I will get to wear so many hats by teaching my students about all sorts of wonderful things. I get to be an astronaut, a horticulturist, a mathematician, an author, an illustrator (Lord help me), a botanist, a doctor, a dancer (how could I teach the human body and not bust a move with my kiddos?), a historian, a librarian, and a million different other things.

Isn’t that amazing? I only need one job to do all the things I ever really wanted to do. What’s even better though is that I get to teach kids about all of those wonderful things so that they can decide what they really want to be when they grow up.

I have the coolest job ever.

Leave a Reply

