Post-Grad Playlists.

Well, it’s almost been two months since I graduated from college and it’s been about a month since I’ve been living in my own apartment with my roommate.

This whole grown-up thing isn’t slowing down, either.

Hopefully sometime next week or so I’ll be signing my life away to Durham Public Schools, getting a benefit package, and seeing my future third grade classroom…! It’s been such an exciting time and I couldn’t be more stoked to see what happens next.

If you know me, you know I love music. I love playing music, listening to music, writing music, all of it. I was always an artsy kid, singing and dancing and wanting to play guitar (thanks to mom and dad for FINALLY getting me my sweet Eleanor the Alvarez for Christmas in eighth grade).

To this day, I still enjoy all of those musical things that I did when I was a kid. I could literally sit in a room and just listen to music all day and be content with that. There are moments where I’ll put on some music, lie in the middle of my living room floor, and just think about a million and one things (Allie Pfeffer, you know what I’m getting at here). Music just makes me so incredibly content and satisfied; I’m not really sure that there’s any other way I can put it.

Part of my love for music manifests itself in the creation of playlists.

Yes, I still make playlists.

I have a playlist for most every occasion — getting ready to hit the town (Fine Fresh Fierce), running/exercising (Run Run Run As Fast As You Can), driving to school on a Friday (TGIF), dancing alone in my room or at my previous workplace (Cafe Disco — that one’s for all my fellow CoCo staffers!), contemplating life (Lie in the Middle of the Floor and Contemplate Life), and so on.

Seriously, there’s a playlist for everything.

I like that concept, personally. I like having background  music playing in my head for everything that happens since music is such a comfort for me. It’s essentially my home base.

Anyway, my love for music and creating playlists has led me to fabricate a playlist about my post-grad life thus far (these two particular playlists can be found on Spotify if you’re really interested).

One of the playlists is really upbeat, pretty dance-tastic, and definitely a must for having a good time. The other playlist, however, is a little more serious — kind of like a coming-of-age playlist that depicts the fact that I’m really growing up and starting to do things on my own.

I’m absolutely in love with this playlist and I can’t stop listening to it.

Featured on the list include the musical talents of The Lumineers, Milo Greene, Bon Iver, John Mayer, The Civil Wars, Joshua Radin, etc. It’s one of my playlists that I could listen straight through every single time and just be truly happy, playing back photo strips of memory throughout.

This is not the sound of a new man or crispy realization
It’s the sound of the unlocking and the lift away
Your love will be
Safe with me

-Bon Iver, “Re: Stacks”

I encourage you to make a playlist for this season of your life. What songs would make the cut?

Leave a Reply

