My Cohort.

It’s mid-July and it’s hiring season for teachers.

This post will be short and sweet and to the point: I just love seeing that my fellow Tarheel teachers are getting jobs.

Not only am I happy to see that there is still a market for teachers (it’s very comforting knowing that you can get a job with the current unemployment rate), but I’m also just absolutely thrilled for my fellow first-year teachers (#educlove at its finest, my friends).

My cohort experienced a lot of changes to UNC’s elementary education program. Everything was completely revamped — updated classes, different requirements, new program director. Essentially, we were the guinea pigs. Some things worked, other things didn’t work; some classes were extremely beneficial, others found us wasting away on Pinterest planning weddings (some of us actually did need to plan weddings though). It was challenging, but we got through it together.

I don’t even care if you’re reading this and think that last sentence sounds lame — it’s true.

We spent more than just one afternoon venting our stresses verbally and also through the occasional cry-fest. It was a struggle, at least for me, balancing both student life and teacher life. Truly this was no easy task for any of us, but despite this we always had each other to fall back on, and for that I am beyond grateful.

We wrote lesson plans, went on field trips, laughed about our kids, cried about our kids, complained about our “useless” assignments, reveled in read-alouds, and slept our weekends away (because no one but kindergarten gets nap time during the week). I use “we” here instead of “I” because this was pretty much what we did on a regular basis. We were a unit and we shared so many rewarding experiences together.

I think that’s why I get so giddy (yes, giddy) whenever I see a Facebook status about one of the girls in my cohort getting a teaching job somewhere. I know for a fact that these beautiful people from my cohort are the best of the best, and I am so blessed and honored to say that I worked with them in my time at UNC. I look forward to hearing updates about their lives as they embark on their first years as teachers, and I can only imagine how great they will each be.

There will be a lot of lucky kids out there come August 27.

Leave a Reply

