(Dis) R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

I like to think of myself as a pretty level-headed person who can usually keep it together when things go awry, but today I almost cried in front of my class.

Thank GOD for Melanie and Elizabeth who talked me down from tears at lunch and who took some planning weight off of my shoulders after school today. YOU. ALL. ROCK.

Anyway, there’s been a lot of minor disrespect issues that I have been continuing to try to keep under control in the classroom. The most prominent of these issues is incessant talking. I remind them how much I love that they have friends and enjoy being social, but we need to learn when it’s appropriate to talk to our friends during class. We’re pretty good at getting silent when I say “freeze!” but the problem is that we can’t stay that way.

Side note: I have good kids. I love my kids. Today we just struggled.

One of my biggest teacher pet peeves is when students talk when I talk. Another one of them is when students get up and walk around or do something else when I talk. This is where our problem lies.

Unfortunately, I also have a student or two who think the rules don’t apply to them. This is incredibly frustrating and difficult, and I’ve never dealt with a child who is so blatantly defiant. I would have never DREAMED of being so rude to my teachers in elementary school — then again, my home life was drastically different than most of the kids I have in my class this year.

Today I just got so incredibly tired of saying “voices off” that I just about lost it. Literally, I was just exhausted from saying it this afternoon. I think it was just so many little things that built up and exploded into something bigger that set me off and ultimately broke me down. I really feel at my wit’s end with what to do to really get them to listen to my directions when I say it’s time to be silent. All suggestions welcome.

I know days like this happen and it’s okay that they happen (because they are inevitable), but gosh this day was just SUCH a frustration. Is it too much to ask for a little respect?

One thought on “(Dis) R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

Leave a Reply

