Quick Reflections.

Today I felt mean.

I felt very tired of kids asking to go to the bathroom in the middle of my lessons. I felt frustrated with the students who refused to follow directions. I felt like I had to wait on their talking longer than I would have liked.

This is such an interesting time of the year. The inconsistent month of November has most certainly taken its toll. This is our first full week of school since the end of October, and I think the kids are starting to feel it. Christmas break is rapidly approaching, and I know for some it will be a fantastic time filled with family and cheer, but for so many others it will simply be sitting around while mom or dad is working all day every day.

I think the hardest thing for me is that when we can’t follow directions or when I can’t trust kids to use the bathroom on their own, we lose time. I’m really realizing how incredibly precious my time with these children is, not only to them, but to me. I want them to remember things and take things away from being in my class, but our time together gets cut short when we can’t get through curriculum. We just can’t do fun things when we can’t be respectful, and that makes me so sad because I want to show them interesting things and give them fun activities to do so that they don’t just learn by rote, but they truly get to experience learning.

This is my goal and will forever be my goal.

Leave a Reply

