MOY Testing.

It’s that time again — time to conduct middle of the year (MOY) reading tests on all of my students. These tests are time consuming, and since I don’t have a TA to help me out it also keeps me from meeting with guided reading groups on a daily basis.

I haven’t done guided reading in so long — it makes me sad. I feel like I’m not helping my students become better readers!

The good thing about these tests though is that I can really see progress. One of my students who started out on a K at the beginning of the year is now reading at an M, and though that isn’t technically “where he’s supposed to be” at this point in the year, it’s still on grade level and I’ll take that as a huge win. I have a newcomer from Mexico who started the year reading at a C and she’s now at an E — progress, my friends! Almost every one of my students has made growth since August in reading.

Almost every one.

What do you do with the kids who don’t make progress? The kids who digress instead of progress? This is something I’ve been struggling with lately.

Am I a bad teacher if this student isn’t making progress like all the others? What is it that I need to do to reach this particular child? How can I meet his needs while still meeting the needs of 22 other children?

With this one student I have, there is a behavior plan in place. He has a checklist for each chunk of our day (literacy, math, corrective instruction, science/social studies) and needs to be rewarded immediately if he checks the things off of his list. One of the things that is almost always on his checklist is to complete a worksheet (if applicable for that day) — he’ll complete the worksheet, but many times it will be completely incorrect. This checklist has helped with his behaviors of rolling around on the floor and straying away from the group on the carpet, and he is trying to participate more, which is wonderful, but there has been little to no growth academically.

Report cards just went out on Friday, and there wasn’t much improvement on his. He hasn’t passed a single common assessment all year, whether it’s been from the district or created by my third grade team.

I’m in constant communication with this parent, and I’m sure to praise his successes as well as let her know if there are any problems. The parent is well-aware of her son’s academic standing, and now I just don’t really know where to go with things.

So, truly — what do you do? How do you get a kid who isn’t making progress to make progress? How do you make sure that this child is even learning in your classroom?

All and any suggestions welcome, as always.

One thought on “MOY Testing.

  1. I came across your blog when I did a Google search for MOY testing so I wasn’t expecting to read this or reply. However, after reading your comment I feel a reply might be helpful.

    I am not a teacher but a parent (step) that is very involved in the child’s life, hence the reason for my search. I am constantly looking for ways to better help her even though I am at my whits end. What struck me here is that my kid must be one of those that are not making the progress you as a teacher wants to see. From reading your blog it appears you care about what and how you are teaching the kids as well as the result. So what can you do that you don’t already do? The sad answer is that there is nothing you can do without the help of the child and the parents. You mention that there is behavior and reward systems etc… this can be a challenge for any teacher. I can tell you it is for us parents. My step daughter is ADHD and we have had a hell of a time getting her to adjust to what it is she has to do not wants to do.

    So let me offer you some information on a professional (clinical psychologist) and a parent. My thoughts are that the children you see digress are much more complicated than you can imagine or even know about. There are factors besides learning disabilities that can and do affect a child at school. I know you know this but with 22 other kids is hard to miss something here and there. You should always push a parent to be involved in their child’s academic career. By push I mean email, call, text whatever you have available. They may not always come forward or even respond at all (even when the kid fails) but you have done your part. In my home my husband and I are in a legal battle with mom over the ADHD diagnosis. She is opposed to any medication and frankly in denial about her daughter. She thinks she is bored and highly creative, therefore the teachers must be boring her. All farthest from the truth. She is an average kid who is creative but cannot organize or focus to save her life. So what can you do with this kid? Unfortunately not a lot just what you do. The rest is in the schools and the parents hands.

    You seem like a great teacher and I applaud you for the concern and dedication to your career and the kids. If anything you can keep an eye as to why kids do what they do and not dismiss them as not wanting to learn or care. If the problem is not at home its somewhere. Even within themselves and sometimes they just need someone to be free with without judgement. My step daughter at 12 is confuse about her sexual orientation and scared to death of telling her mom. So these are also things to keep in mind. They have so much in them that it is quite possible that digressing is a result of being over loaded with a life they do not know how to handle. There is a reason why people progress in the face of adversity, even children. But digressing can be as simple as being ADHD and being all over the place. But it can also mean mental health issues such as anxiety disorder or abuse at home. They don’t know how to think and the pressure can affect them so much you see the difference.

    I don’t know that this helps or make sense, but it is a thought. Good luck,

Leave a Reply

