Just Another Day in 3rd Grade.

I’m sitting in bed and my bangs smell like Ticonderoga pencils from keeping one behind my ear all day and I still have marker ink on my hands from grading during my “planning period.”

Warning: What you are about to read is a real conversation.

Student: Miss Stewarttttttttttt, but I really have to goooooooooo [to the bathroom]!!!

Me: …no. You literally went 15 minutes ago.

Student: But it’s an emergencyyyyy, I’ve only gone like twice todayyy!!!

Me: Wanna know how many times I’ve gone to the bathroom today?

(Silence)

Me: (holds up a hand-made zero) ZERO.

(Student walks away)

Yep, that’s right folks, apparently kids have to pee ALL THE TIME. Actually, that’s false, because they just think it’s cool to walk in the hallways all by themselves.

4 thoughts on “Just Another Day in 3rd Grade.

  1. My second year teaching, I’d cracked down on my 5th graders who kept going to the bathroom way to often (according to me, anyway.) Then one day one of my sweet girls who always tried to do the right thing raised her hand during a lesson and asked to go. I asked her to wait. A minute or so later, she asked again, and I again asked her to wait. Turns out she was sick and needed to throw up. She didn’t make it to the bathroom in time because she’d waited, just like I’d asked her too. *Sigh* Certainly a lesson learned for me that day! 🙂

  2. Dear Allison,
    1) You are hilarious.
    2) I wish I could see you in action as you teach.
    3) Shoot me an email when you get a chance! I took a picture in France with you in mind.
    -Isaac

    • Okay! What email shall I use? I get Facebook back soon since Lent will be over, and I just want you to know I can’t wait to look at ALL YOUR PICTURES and literally “like” every single one.

      Yes, I am that friend.

      When are you coming back to the states? You’re always more than welcome in my classroom!

      • Just saw this! My unc email is perfect! Just imarsh@live.

        Can’t wait for you to see them! Then I can tag you in the one I took with you in mind. I call it “Small people doing big things.”

Leave a Reply

