New Year, New…Year!

Happy 2015, friends! Can’t believe it’s already here — what ever happened to that big Y2K scare so many years ago!? And wasn’t the world supposed to end in 2012?

Usually I write a lot about my teaching experiences, but this post errs on the personal side a bit. With a new year comes those new resolutions. Swarms of people flood all the treadmills in all the gyms and bad habits like smoking are beaten into submission and curbed…until February.

I used to be all about the concept of resolutions, until I realized they don’t often yield the results I so often desire after making them. I’m definitely a list-making goal-setter, so I kind of like to think of a new year meaning I can make new goals for what lies ahead (note: you can make goals whenever the heck you want to, and I bet I’ll make different goals before this time next year). What I like about goals is that they’re attainable — short term, long term, whatever term. We do a lot of talking about SMART Goals at school, so why not actually make that applicable to my real life?!

Allison’s New Year, New…Year! Goals

  1. Run ‘x’ amount of miles each month. At the beginning of every month, I’ll assess a few factors (i.e. weather, schedule) and set a mileage goal for each month. I’m pretty excited about this one since I’ve run more races in the last year than I imagined myself doing in my whole life had you asked me a couple years ago, and I’m already getting races on my calendar for this year. So, for the month of January, I’m going to run 20 miles. Gotta start somewhere!
  2. Read the Bible in its entirety. I’ve never done this the whole way through, so I’ve started a plan to keep me on track (which includes reminders on my phone – praise). I’ve tried to do this before and haven’t made it through the whole year, so I’m dedicated to keep on top of this one. I’m looking forward to journaling throughout the process as well.
  3. Read a book a month. As a teacher (and generally a human being who loves words and stories), I do a lot of reading on a regular basis. I read a TON of education-based articles and news stories (and emails..blah), which is great, but I don’t read as many books as I’d like to. I figure a book a month is a good start in regards to staying on top of my young adult/children’s fiction game (still working on HP4…for the first time), as well as my personal professional development game.

What are your goals for this new year?

2 thoughts on “New Year, New…Year!

Leave a Reply

