A Taste of 1:1.

Yesterday we rolled out some ChromeBooks for my third graders, and let me tell you something: it was awesome.

LP's so excited that she decided to strike a pose

LP’s so excited that she decided to strike a pose

I’ve read about the benefits of 1:1 technology and I’ve often pondered its possibilities in my own classroom, but yesterday’s ChromeBook rollout got me way more excited than I thought I could be.

Watching my kids engage with technology in a meaningful way makes my heart palpitate with joy. Here’s how I plan on using our new technology:

  1. Google Classroom. If you haven’t used this, you should (I’m using it with third graders, so it can basically be used with anyone). Now that each student will have access to a ChromeBook every day, I can start holding all students accountable to turning in work on Google Classroom. I can also start pushing out more assignments, rubrics, and reminders out using this program, knowing that every child will check it every school day during class. Love making the moves toward a paperless classroom!
  2. Google Forms. This is going to make exit tickets, feedback, and perception data so easy. I’ve used Google Forms for exit tickets before in the past, but having limited computers has made it a little more time-consuming than I’d like. With no computer-sharing, I don’t have to worry about kids logging on and off and back on again to fill out a two question exit ticket. Praise.
  3. Differentiated Instruction. I can have some kids watching videos, others reading articles, and still others collaboratively writing on a Google Doc. This is going to benefit my kids as they work on projects especially, so that they can work at their own pace and continue to extend their learning by watching some sweet flipped videos to teach them how to use various programs. They will have autonomy in the research process and really take ownership of what they’re learning. They’ll have the opportunity to choose what medium in which they’d like to present their information. All of the real world experiences are making my brain spin.

The kids will also be able to use the technology for regular reading practice, using programs such as KidBiz3000 or RazKids, and they will also continue to use their Gmail accounts to communicate with their book clubs, but y’all — this technology means so much more than just day-in and day-out practice.

It’s 11:30pm and I’m still awake because I’m thinking about how much my kids will benefit from this technology. The way I see it, this will only enhance the learning that’s already happening, and that is absolutely exhilarating to think about. It’s 11:30pm and I’m so excited to go to school tomorrow because I can’t wait to watch the endless teachable moments unfold before my eyes, because these moments aren’t even about me teaching them, but these kids teaching each other.

Look at these kids helping each other. #comolosjefes

TEAMWORK MAKES THE DREAM WORK #comolosjefes

If y’all don’t know what magic is, this is it.

That hand clap, though.

That hand clap, though. Heart: full.

2 thoughts on “A Taste of 1:1.

    • An exit ticket is just a way to determine whether or not kids understand something at the end of a lesson. Example after a lesson about character traits: “On a sticky note, write a character trait to describe Willy Wonka and justify your answer with evidence from the text.”

      🙂

Leave a Reply

