Why I Write.

I got this notification yesterday from WordPress:

Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com!
You registered on WordPress.com 6 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!
Six years ago. What was my life six years ago?
     I was 19 years old, attending The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where I thought I would major in journalism or screenwriting. Now, here I am at 25, teaching children in Chapel Hill how to write and planning on running a journalism/broadcasting club next year. Funny how things work out, isn’t it?
     I’ve always wanted to write and I’ve always had a passion for writing (and I hate to break it to you, WordPress, but my first blog ever was created in 2004 when I was in eighth grade on Mindsay — does anyone else remember this site?!). I carried a notepad and a writing utensil everywhere I went and documented everything I experienced, which honestly isn’t too different from my life today. I interviewed witnesses (sometimes including myself, only using a different accent — but that’s a completely different blog post), illustrated scenes of cookie-crumbed crimes, wrote songs during recess and penned poems in almost every holiday card I made.
     Last time I visited my parents, I was in the attic looking for a few books and I found notebooks full of writing from my childhood. Diaries and journals and anthologies tracing every outline of my youth. Needless to say, I’m grateful that there’s an online medium for me to do my writing now, because I’m afraid had I continued in my old ways, there would be no rainforests left anywhere in the entire world.
     I blame my love for writing on both my grandfathers, who are also avid writers: one researched and documented our family’s lineage and the other was a sports reporter/editor for the Canton Repository for nearly 30 years. I blame my relentless revising processes to my tenth grade English teacher, Gary Mace: I learned the importance of words from him, and how there is beauty in the balance between the concise and the flowery.
     All my life I’ve loved books and words and language, etymology and reading between the lines. I try my best to pass this fascination onto the students I teach, because I believe there is power in written word. The superpower one has when (s)he can wield mighty lexicon is certainly a force to be reckoned with.
     I write for many reasons. I write to play with rhymes and syllables, to learn new words, to form structured ideas, to recount precious memories. I write to inform, to share classroom practice, to inquire of others. I write because it forces my thinking to expand outside of the walls of my own mind.
What makes you put proverbial pencil to paper?
IMG_2040

(c) ARStewart Photography

One thought on “Why I Write.

  1. My goodness, this is beautiful! You certainly have a way with words and write with sincerity and heart. We also have a lot in common (journalism background/ambitions, childhood habits, etc.), though you are significantly younger than me 🙂 thanks for sharing and showing me the potential for a teacher’s blog!

Leave a Reply

