Publishing Hiatus.

It’s been nearly three months since I last published something here.

I’ve had so much to write — so many thoughts, so many stories, so many teachable moments. Sixth grade has been such a breath of fresh air for me in a multitude of ways that it’s hard for me to decide where to start when I want to sit down and write. I’ve drafted numerous pieces about parents and student achievement and just classroom stories, but none of them fit properly. They didn’t seem right.

A lot has happened in the last three months. I’ve lost a loved one, I’ve had potential romantic relationships fail, I’ve nearly gone insane trying to do everything. I’m applying to graduate school for public policy/administration and I’m kicking butt and taking names with my work alongside the Public School Forum in Raleigh. I haven’t been sleeping enough and am still trying to finish Aziz Ansari’s book Modern Love that I started six months ago on a plane to Seattle.

Time is a fleeting concept.

One of the things I started doing these last few weeks is keeping up with a bullet journal. I’m a total nerd and have an affinity for typeface, so this analog system of keeping track of my life has been fabulous. A piece of my journal is a monthly self-care tracker, where I’m checking to see how I do with my overall well-being that is not tied to or for school.

Writing is on my list.

I need to get back into the swing of writing more about the the things that are working (and not working!) in my class. My PLN is such an invaluable resource, and I need to make it a habit again to constantly be sharing and searching.

So now, here I am, prepared to give you something to read about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

